valor


Yenny Cho

Prof. Gert Trauernicht
Prof. Dr. Fabian Hemmert

Semester

2 20
3

Contact yeeuncho@hotmail.com

Development of a system to support therapies for anxiety disorders

The heart is pounding, the breath is coming in gasps and the body is covered with sweat – fear is an emotion we feel in many daily situations. It leads us through various dangers of life. For some people, however, this feeling exaggerates. They feel these symptoms constantly in their everyday lives, often without a reason. Then we can speak of an anxiety disorder.

Confrontation therapy is a suitable method for the affected to face their fears. But even though this form of therapy is the most effective for anxiety disorders like phobias, many therapists don’t apply this form of treatment because of the difficulties it can bring.

Valor is a system developed to modernize the confrontation therapy and face the current challenges of this form of treatment and the psychotherapy itself. The system consists of a VR-headset, optimized for therapy, and a wearable with modular biofeedback sensors. Through the headset the patient is able to confront themselves with their fear and the wearable measures the symptoms and changes the virtual confrontation fitting to the patients’ current measurements. The associated software allows the psychotherapist to get an overview of the therapy, as well as the ability to change the cycle of the treatment.

  • oxon  UWID

    oxon
    Johann Rohn

  • Lost in Space  UWID

    Lost in Space
    Eva Licht

  • NEVA  UWID

    NEVA
    Kathrin Neumann

  • Contact  UWID

    Contact
    Jana Horst

valor


Yenny Cho

Prof. Gert Trauernicht
Prof. Dr. Fabian Hemmert

Semester

Sommer 20
Bachelor

Kontakt yeeuncho@hotmail.com

Entwicklung eines Systems zur Unterstützung von Therapien bei Angststörungen

Das Herz rast, die Stirn nass vor Schweiß und das Gesicht kreidebleich – Angst ist eine Emotion, die wir in vielen Situationen des Lebens empfinden. Bei manchen Menschen nimmt dieses Gefühl ein übersteigertes Ausmaß an. Wenn sie die Symptome ständig im Alltag empfinden, kann von einer Angststörung gesprochen werden.

Die Expositionstherapie hilft den Erkrankten, sich der Angst zu stellen. Obwohl sie die effektivste Behandlungsmethode bei Angststörungen ist, vermeiden einige Therapeut∗innen diese Form der Behandlung, weil sie herausfordernd ist.

Valor ist ein System, das die Expositionstherapie modernisiert und so diese Herausforderungen bewältigen soll. Das System besteht aus einer für Therapiezwecke optimierten VR-Brille und einem Wearable mit modularen Biofeedback-Sensoren. Durch die Brille werden Patient∗innen mit ihrer Angst konfrontiert. Das Wearable misst die Körpersymptome der Patient∗innen, anschließend erhalten die Nutzer∗innen eine Rückkopplung in Form einer Anpassung der Konfrontation. Mithilfe der dazugehörigen Software können Therapeut∗innen jederzeit in diesen Kreislauf eingreifen.

  • .breathforce  UWID

    .breathforce
    Tom Sion

  • News  UWID

    News
    Luisa Ebeling

  • cust.o  UWID

    cust.o
    Christina Klöpper

  • NEVA  UWID

    NEVA
    Kathrin Neumann