Exclusion and Diversity


Student(s) Supervision

Prof. Dr. Martina Fineder
Dipl. Des. Anne Kurth

Eva Licht
Eva Müller

Semester

Winter 20/21
Bachelor

Module

Writing Breakfast

Contact methodlab@uni-wuppertal.de

The Writing Breakfast is a joint project of teachers and students. It provides a framework for creatively addressing current political and social issues and engaging in an exchange about them. We meet five times a semester via Zoom to discuss, try out, write, design, or ask questions. Exact dates to be announced.

Our doors are open and the offer is voluntary - not only for design students! Just drop in and stay if you like it. It is also possible to join us at a later date.

REVIEW WS 2020/21

The focus at the writing breakfast in the winter semester 2020/21 was on the topic of exclusion and diversity. This topic was chosen at the request of students who had participated in the previous semester.

Reflection & Input

As a stimulus for thematic discussion, the first breakfast included input in the form of various videos dealing with clichés and stereotypes of diversity. A subsequent joint reflection on the individual understanding of diversity and reasons for exclusion gave the participants personal reference to the content.

Writing Methods – Tiny Tales

The Tiny Tale Method – also known as beer coaster stories – boils the essence of a story down to 140 characters with a plot-twist at the very end. In our case it rather was napkin stories – short and crisp for breakfast. Keywords that we collected during the previous session were used as inspiration.

Collective Writing

What will our future look like? How will we be excluded and what role will diversity play? The students dealt with different future scenarios that can lead to experiences of exclusion, for example due to age, and then edited them collectively.

Visual Essay

The Visual Essay brings imagery and writing into a new context and allows the author to critically comment on the topic: increasing diversity in media, design and politics.

OUTLOOK

In the coming semester, the Writing Breakfast will continue to provide a space to engage with political and social issues through creative writing sessions and stimulating discussions. We will continue to address the issue of diversity and how democratic design is, can be, or should be.

Are participation, process design, and inclusion pathways to diversity in design? As opposed to product design or product placement? Are there past movements and currents we can learn from?

Referring specifically to our world of goods, we will ask: What is diversity in the world of goods? We will compare this to media, fashion, and film worlds and are excited to see what conclusions we can draw for our discipline.

The outcome of the course could be a journalistic report, a podcast, or a program booklet for the coming semester, because we want to further develop the Writing Breakfast program with you and use this course as a living project to learn from and teach each other - and to hopefully initiate a relevant discourse about people, the environment, and the surrounding world.

more Projects

  • Prosthetic leg

    Prosthetic leg
    Michal Zalesak

  • Prisma

    Prisma
    Zhidong Xia
    Xiaotian Wang

  • LEVO Expand

    LEVO Expand
    Frederik Bruer

  • Design Basics

    Design Basics
    Patrick Bauke
    Laurin Büscher
    Leon Clamor
    Lana Deleui
    Ruoxi Dong
    Manuel Düßel
    Felix Felsch
    Jiaxin Gong
    Jonas Grim
    Leo Herringslack
    Björn Hendrik Hessberg
    Lisa Jagieniak
    Katharina Jansen
    Maëlise Jourdan
    Benedikt Kreißig
    Samuel Per Enzo Linsenmeier
    Erasmus Lippert
    Cederic Marx
    Katrin Paulus Castella
    Anna Marie Raupach
    Rizzo Salvatore Pio
    Maike Schiffler
    Daniel Schulze
    Leonard Semke
    Esin Simsek
    Finn Ole Sommerhoff
    Lisa Sonntag
    Jonathan Spieker
    Fabian Stackmann
    Christian Stratmann
    Sarah Trautwein
    Enya Tuchenhagen
    Michael Wizke
    Wen Xin

Ausgrenzung und Diversität


Student(en) Betreuung

Prof. Dr. Martina Fineder
Dipl. Des. Anne Kurth

Eva Licht
Eva Müller

Semester

Winter 20/21
Bachelor

Modul

Schreibfrühstück

Kontakt methodlab@uni-wuppertal.de

Das Schreibfrühstück ist ein gemeinsames Projekt von Lehrenden und Studierenden. Es bildet einen Rahmen, sich kreativ mit aktuellen politischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen auseinanderzusetzen und darüber in den Austausch zu gehen. Wir treffen uns an fünf Terminen im Semester in Zoom zum Diskutieren, Ausprobieren, Schreiben, Gestalten oder Fragen. Genaue Termine werden noch bekanntgegeben.

Unsere Türen stehen offen und das Angebot ist freiwillig – nicht nur für Designstudierende! Schaut einfach mal rein und bleibt, wenn’s euch gefällt. Auch ein Dazustoßen zu späterem Zeitpunkt ist möglich.

RÜCKBLICK WS 2020/21

Der Fokus beim Schreibfrühstück lag im Wintersemester 2020/21 auf dem Thema Ausgrenzung und Diversität. Dieses Thema wurde auf Wunsch der Studierenden gewählt, die im vorangegangenen Semester teilgenommen hatten.

Reflexion & Input

Als Anregung zur thematischen Auseinandersetzung gab es zum ersten Frühstück Input in Form verschiedener Videos, die sich mit Klischees und Stereotypen zu Diversität auseinandersetzen. Eine anschließende gemeinsame Reflexion zum individuellen Verständnis von Diversität und Gründen für Ausgrenzung gab den Teilnehmer∗innen einen persönlichen Bezug zum Inhalt.

Schreibmethoden – Tiny Tales

Die Methode der Tiny Tales – oder auch Bierdeckelgeschichten – stellt die Essenz einer Geschichte in 140 Zeichen dar, mit einem Plot-Twist als krönendem Abschluss. In unserem Fall waren es Serviettengeschichten – kurz und knackig zum Frühstück. Zur Inspiration dienten Schlagworte aus der Reflexion-Session des vorherigen Termins.

Kollektives Schreiben

Wie wird unsere Zukunft aussehen? Wie werden wir ausgegrenzt werden und welche Rolle wird Diversität spielen? Die Studierenden setzten sich mit verschiedenen Zukunftsszenarien auseinander, die zu Ausgrenzungserfahrungen führen können, beispielsweise das Alter, und lektorierten diese anschließend im Kollektiv.

Visual Essay

Das Visual Essay bringt Bild und Schrift in einen neuen Kontext und erlaubt der∗m Autor∗in eine kritische Stellungnahme und Kommentierung des Themas: Zunehmende Diversität in Medien, Design und Politik.

AUSBLICK

Auch im kommenden Semester wird das Schreibfrühstück einen Raum bieten, sich mit politischen und gesellschaftlichen Themen in kreativen Schreibsessions und anregenden Diskussionen auseinanderzusetzen. Wir werden das Thema Diversität weiter aufgreifen und uns mit der Thematik beschäftigen, wie demokratisch Design ist, sein kann oder sein sollte.

Sind Partizipation, Prozessgestaltung und Inklusion Wege zu Diversität im Design? Im Gegensatz zu Produktdesign oder Produktplatzierung? Gibt es vergangene Bewegungen und Strömungen, von denen wir lernen können?

Gerade bezogen auf unsere Warenwelt werden wir uns fragen: Was ist Diversität in der Warenwelt? Wir werden diese mit Medien, Mode und Filmwelten vergleichen und sind gespannt auf die Schlüsse für unser Fach, die wir daraus ziehen können.

Als Ergebnis des Kurses könnte ein journalistischer Bericht entstehen, ein Podcast oder ein Programmheft für das kommende Semester, denn wir wollen das Programm des Schreibfrühstücks mit euch gemeinsam weiterentwicklen und diesen Kurs als lebendiges Projekt nutzen, voneinander und miteinander zu lernen und zu lehren – und einen hoffentlich relevanten Diskurs über Mensch, Umwelt und Umfeld zu initiieren.

weitere Projekte

  • Wave  UWID

    Wave
    Zhidong Xia

  • MAKEME Smartglasses  UWID

    MAKEME Smartglasses
    Frederik Bruer
    Justus Kaufmann
    Philipp Zigan

  • Braun BT10  UWID

    Braun BT10
    Enrico Suhm

  • Prisma  UWID

    Prisma
    Zhidong Xia
    Xiaotian Wang