IR-Temp. Unit 1.01


Jonathan Cohen Harel


Prof. Gert Trauernicht


Winter 20/21




IR-Temp. Unit 1.01 is an electronic contactless thermometer that measures infrared waves on both people and surfaces of inanimate objects. This is an ideal product for the casual user that must measure temperatures in their household or workspaces and appreciate quality and longevity.

Any person can customize the IR-Temp. Unit 1.01 with their preferred settings for their specific scenario, using a main control button and a dial. From architects that must measure the energy efficiency of a building, to an engineering student that must regulate the temperatures of their newest construction, or even just checking someone for fever.

The user can pick between two modes. Mode 1 is for measuring body temperatures and can measure between 32° C and 43° C. Mode 2 is ideal for surfaces of non-living objects and can measure between -50° C and 1000° C. The user can also switch between Celsius, Fahrenheit or Kelvin, and adjust the screen brightness. There is a safety switch for the laser on the main control button to avoid unwanted activation of the laser. The form of the device allows for the user to measure temperatures accurately, because they can simply point on the surface they would light to measure. Every IR-Temp. Unit 1.01 comes with a charging station that can also be used as a case for transporting or storing the device.

This project was developed as a student project and not on behalf of any company mentioned.

more Projects

  • Prisma  UWID

    Zhidong Xia
    Xiaotian Wang

  • DayWear  UWID

    Christian Rüsseler
    Kemajl Shala

  • food delivery system 2050  UWID

    food delivery system 2050
    Justus Kaufmann

  • Design Basics  UWID

    Design Basics
    Patrick Bauke
    Laurin Büscher
    Leon Clamor
    Lana Deleui
    Ruoxi Dong
    Manuel Düßel
    Felix Felsch
    Jiaxin Gong
    Jonas Grim
    Leo Herringslack
    Björn Hendrik Hessberg
    Lisa Jagieniak
    Katharina Jansen
    Maëlise Jourdan
    Benedikt Kreißig
    Samuel Per Enzo Linsenmeier
    Erasmus Lippert
    Cederic Marx
    Katrin Paulus Castella
    Anna Marie Raupach
    Rizzo Salvatore Pio
    Maike Schiffler
    Daniel Schulze
    Leonard Semke
    Esin Simsek
    Finn Ole Sommerhoff
    Lisa Sonntag
    Jonathan Spieker
    Fabian Stackmann
    Christian Stratmann
    Sarah Trautwein
    Enya Tuchenhagen
    Michael Wizke
    Wen Xin